About the club 

About the club

Zenit Football Club was established in May, 1925. Originally the club was based at the Leningrad Metal Plant named after Stalin. Starting from 1936 the club was named Stalinets. Zenit got its current name in 1940.

Zenit is the main football club in St. Petersburg. It is also the most popular club in Russia, and, according to independent analysts, is one of the ten most popular football clubs in Europe among fans.

Zenit’s history is unique. Zenit held matches during the Nazi blockade of St. Petersburg for 900 days (1941-1944), and won the Soviet Union Cup in 1944. Zenit won the UEFA Cup and UEFA Super Cup in 2008. Zenit holds the complete collection of Russian and Soviet titles, from league trophies to national cups and super cups.

Zenit is best known for its style of football. The club’s fans know that their team will always give them the emotion and passion that real fans crave, whether the club is at the top of the tournament table or in the middle of the pack. Zenit’s fans are the team’s 12th man. The club does not allow its players to take the number 12, leaving it forever for the team’s fans instead.

By the end of the 20th century Zenit gradually, step by step, returned the status of Russia’s football capital to St. Petersburg. Zenit was the first team from outside of Moscow to win the Russian Cup, and then the full collection of Russian Premier League awards, as well as European trophies.

There is great interest in Zenit around the world, and the team’s media are extremely popular. The club’s official website was launched in the end of 1998, and gets as many visitors today as all the websites of all other Russian Premier League clubs combined. The club newspaper “Our Zenit” is published weekly with a print run of tens of thousands. The club radio station Radio Zenit has the largest audience in the city among specialized radio stations. The editorial departments of the club’s media give all the news about what’s happening inside and outside the club: Zenit’s journalists, photographers, and video operators work with Zenit everywhere the club goes.

Zenit was the first club in Russia to make its own official pages in the world’s largest Internet social networks. Zenit was the first club in Russia to broadcast its matches through Twitter, and Zenit is proud to be the first in Russia to offer a new service — MediaStore. FC Zenit’s MediaStore provides a way for any fan of the club or photo editor from any media resource to get access to the club’s enormous photo archive, including exclusive photographs and videos which are published in real time. This is another step forward for the club-leader.

О клубе 

Футбольный клуб «Зенит»

Футбольный клуб «Зенит» основан в мае 1925 года. Первоначально это была команда при Ленинградском металлическом заводе имени Сталина. С 1936 года клуб носил имя «Сталинец». В 1940 году обрёл своё нынешнее имя — «Зенит».

«Зенит» — главная петербургская футбольная команда, самая популярная команда в России и, по оценкам независимых аналитиков, входит в десятку наиболее любимых болельщиками футбольных клубов Европы.

История клуба по-настоящему уникальна: команда прошла путь от блокадных матчей и победы в Кубке Советского Союза в 1944 году до высших европейских наград в начале XXI века. «Зенит» — единственный клуб в России, обладающий полным набором всех российских и советских наград высшего достоинства — чемпионских трофеев, Кубков и Суперкубков страны.

Визитная карточка «Зенита» — футбол, демонстрируемый командой. Будь «Зенит» наверху турнирной таблицы или в середине табели о рангах, переживай сине-бело-голубые взлёт или падение, пришедшие на трибуны болельщики всегда знают: всю страсть, все футбольные эмоции, которые возможно представить, футболисты «Зенита» обязательно подарят. Болельщики «Зенита» — 12-й игрок клуба: не случайно футболка с номером «12» навечно закреплена за поклонниками команды.

К концу 90-х годов XX века «Зенит» постепенно, шаг за шагом начал возвращать Петербургу звание футбольной столицы России. Сначала «Зенит» первым из немосковских клубов привёз в город Кубок России, затем — полный набор наград первенства и, конечно же, чемпионские титулы и европейские трофеи.

Интерес к «Зениту» по-настоящему огромен, а популярность клубных СМИ чрезвычайно велика: запущенный в конце 1998-го года официальный сайт клуба ежедневно посещает столько же человек, сколько заходит на сайты всех остальных клубов премьер-лиги, вместе взятых; клубная газета «Наш «Зенит» выходит еженедельным тиражом в десятки тысяч экземпляров, а «Радио «Зенит» может похвастаться самой масштабной в городе аудиторией среди специализированных радио. Редакции клубных изданий круглосуточно сообщают о происходящем в команде и вокруг неё: корреспонденты, фотографы и операторы работают с «Зенитом» везде, где бы он ни находился.

«Зенит» первым в России создал официальные представительства в крупнейших социальных сетях мира. «Зенит» первым в России начал транслировать свои матчи через twitter, и «Зенит» горд тем, что первым в России предлагает новый сервис — MediaStore. MediaStore ФК «Зенит» — это возможность любому болельщику клуба или фоторедактору любого средства массовой информации получить доступ к огромному фотоархиву клуба, это эксклюзивные фотографии и видео, которые публикуются в режиме реального времени, — очередной шаг вперёд клуба-лидера.